jump to navigation

Favorite Work Week Breakfast June 21, 2013

Posted by graciegrapes in Food, Health and Fitness.
trackback

*This was an old draft that I had intended to add pictures too, but never got aroudn to it :P.* 

Most would agree that weight loss is part exercise and part diet.  Before I started with my exercise routine I really focused on modifying my diet.  Personally, I try to minimize the amount of processed foods (requires cooking/making my own food) and to incorporate a many fruits and veggies as possible.  That’s not to say that I don’t eat junk every so often, but in moderation.

A rule of thumb that I have always followed, even when I was little, is to never skip breakfast.  These days I like to get as much sleep as possible, so that means I need a quick to put together and quick to eat breakfast that will hold me until lunch; which in the OR can be anywhere between 11 and 1.  My solution OATMEAL!  Not that processed overly sweetened flavored stuff though…  I’m talking about the plain oatmeal that comes in the cylinder tub.  I have a few go-to combinations that are delicious and keep me going until lunch.

For some oatmeal ideas… Keep Reading!

My basic oatmeal is 1/3 cup oatmeal with 2/3 cup milk and a drizzle of honey warmed in the microwave for 2 minutes.  Personally, I don’t find this plain combination very appetizing, so I have a couple of mix in ideas.

My favorite mix in is frozen berries.  Once the oatmeal is done heating I add in the berries, which work to cool the oatmeal to the perfect temperature for consumption!

Another classic combo is brown sugar and cinnamon.  Basically I leave out the honey and sprinkle cinnamon and about a teaspoon or so of brown sugar before heating.  If I have bananas on hand, I’ll also slice one up into the oatmeal after it comes out the microwave.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

