jump to navigation

Beer Mac and Cheese February 11, 2012

Posted by graciegrapes in Food.
trackback

Mac and cheese is perhaps one of my favorite comfort foods, however I have never made it myself without the aid of kraft or velveeta’s yellow box!  I recently signed up on pinterest and came upon this recipe for beer mac and cheese. (click picture for original post)

In honor of my room mate’s 21st birthday I decided to give it a try 🙂

To see how may first attempt at homemade mac and cheese went…

Beer Mac and Cheese
courtesy of How Sweet It Is

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 cups uncooked whole wheat elbow noodles
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 8 ounces milk
  • 8 ounces beer (Use whatever you have on hand – I used Yuengling Black and Tan)
  • 8 ounces freshly grated cheddar cheese
  • 4 ounces freshly grated parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • pinch of black pepper
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup panko bread crumbs (I just used italian bread crumbs)
  • 10 large basil leaves, chopped for garnish (optional)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Cook macaroni as usual, but under cook by 1-2 minutes since baking will continue the cooking.  In a saucepan make your rue by melting butter over medium high heat and whisking in flour; cook until golden brown color.  Then while whisking add milk, beer, and cheeses.  Continue whisking until cheese is melted and mixture thickens slightly; takes about 5 minutes.  Next stir in seasonings.

Combine macaroni with cheese sauce in a casserole or baking dish and top with breadcrumbs. 

Bake for 25-30 minutes, remove from oven and let sit for 5 minutes.

Unfortunately my first attempt at home made mac n cheese did not turn out as I hoped.  I had too much pasta and not enough sauce since I didn’t exactly measure out my pasta.  I managed to salvage it by whipping up some additional cheese sauce and just mixed it all together!  The additional cheese sauce was basically the same cheese sauce but without the beer.  Not amazing, but it worked, and my next attempt should be a success!

ENJOY!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

