jump to navigation

New Year full of coupons! January 18, 2012

Posted by graciegrapes in Coupons.
trackback

So it’s been quite a while since I last posted on here.  All I can say is that the last two semester of my nursing program took over my life!!  But thankfully I made it through and graduated on Dec. 10, 2011.  For the rest of 2011 I spent it simply relaxing; it was the first time that I didn’t have any sort of commitments (i.e. work).  The past two weeks have been spent in orientation for my new job at MCV as an OR Intern; not your typical hospital RN job, I’ll be going in Monday-Friday 7:00am-3:30pm until mid-August with no vacation allowed.  Aside from the no vacation part I’m actually looking forward to it.

Now that I don’t have school assignments to worry about anymore I have some new goals for myself.  Of those goals is to catch up on my couponing!  I’m nothing like the extreme couponers on the TV show, but I am pretty pleased with what I’ve been able to do.  I don’t have a huge stockpile of items, but it works for me $$

The other day I got caught up on cutting out all my coupons, but they have yet to be sorted.  And don’t even get me started on cleaning out my coupon binder!  Despite my current state of disorganization I decided to rummage through the pile to catch a couple of deals for this week.  Last week I did some grocery shopping at Kroger and was able to cut my bill in half using coupons.  The highlight of that trip was my 99 cent bottle of Tide Laundry Detergent!

Want to see how my coupon adventure went today?

Today I set out to get a deal for 99 cent bags of dogfood at Target, and a couple of other things at CVS.  I had a rather tough start to my coupon adventure and ended up leave empty handed from Target since they were sold out.  Then CVS didn’t start any better when coupons I was expecting to print out from the “red machine” didn’t pop out.  Since I didn’t want the trip to be wasted I decided to just carry on.  Got to the aisle to pick up some tissue paper, and once again SOLD OUT!  I couldn’t believe it, and at this point I was getting quite frustrated.
Luckily I managed to do some quick calculations and was able to recover my shopping trip! While it wasn’t quite what I was expecting, it was still a pretty good haul.

Total Value: 79.56
Paid: 24.20
AND… got $10 gift card back!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

