jump to navigation

Dulce de Leche Brownies May 6, 2011

Posted by graciegrapes in Food.
trackback

For Cinco de mayo I put together this really simple desert… dulce de leche brownies!

Dulce de leche is a thick milk-based caramel like sauce

that can usually be found prepared in the Latin food section of the grocery store.  In high school my friend introduce me to it when she brought in cookies sandwiched with the stuff.  I have yet to recreate those cookies!

But for this recipe I decided to create my dulce de leche with a can of condensed milk.  There are a couple of methods to do this including boiling a can in hot water, cooking the can in a pressure cooker, microwaving, and baking in the oven.  Personally I attempted the oven baking method as I was concerned about exploding cans.

Dulce De Leche Brownie

To learn how to make your own dulce de leche and brownie…

Dulce de leche

  • 1 can of condensed milk

To make my dulce de leche I used a method of baking using a water bath.  I preheated my oven to 400 degrees.
I got two glass baking dishes, one small than the other.  Poured the contents of the can into the smaller dish and sealed it well with foil.  Placed the smaller dish into the larger, and filled the larger with water so it can up to about half way up the smaller dish.  Be careful not to get any water into the smaller dish, and be sure the foil has a good seal.  I then baked it for 1 hour.   Allowing it to cool before using it.

My attempt at dulce de leche

Dulce de Leche Brownies

Ingredients:

  • Dulce de leche
  • Brownie mix

For the brownies I simple prepared a store bought brownie mix according to the directions.

First I poured about half of the mix into my baking dish and then topped it with a layer of the dulce de leche.  Then I layered it with the rest of the mix, and topped off with some more dulce de leche.  The cooking time was a little longer than the suggested cooking time… about 25 minutes.

I also suggest using a cake-like brownie mix if you aren’t a fan of gooey borderline raw brownies, as a fudgier batter does not completely set when combined with the dulce de leche.  Give these brownies time to cool before cutting.. .about 15 minutes!  I know, it’s hard to wait!

Brownie mix - to get the "swirl" design just run a toothpick through the batter once it's in the pan

Comments»

1. Rachel P. - May 6, 2011

Sounds fabulous. Do you mind providing us with the brand of store bought brownie mix you would recommend we use for more cake-like brownies?

Grace - May 6, 2011

It’s actually not really any particular brand but rather the preparation of the mix. Usually the mix will give directions stating, to typically add more water, to get more cake-like brownies.


Leave a Reply

