jump to navigation

Fried Lemon Tilapia April 13, 2011

Posted by graciegrapes in Food.
trackback

My boyfriend came home from the gym with a craving for fish!  Since it’s Lent I happened to have a bag of individually frozen tilapia fillets in the freezer.  On the bag there happened to be a recipe for Fried Tilapia with Lemon.  Unfortunately the recipe called for fresh lemon and parsley, which I did not have.  I made the best of what I had, and whipped up this real simple fried fish with great flavor!

Served with rice and fresh diced tomato

To find out how I made lemon tilapia without a lemon…

Fried Tilapia with Lemon
adapted from a recipe on “Great American Seafood” bag

Ingredient:

  • Tilapia fillets, if frozen-thaw
  • Flour
  • Salt
  • Lemon Pepper Seasoning Salt
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil *I just eyeballed it, so this is an estimation*
  • Lemon juice (I use bottled from concentrate)
  • Italian seasoning, for garnish

Since my fillets were frozen I thawed them and rinsed them under running water.  After drying them off I lighted dusted both sides with flour, and seasoned was a dash of salt and lemon pepper seasoning.  In a large frying pan I heated up the olive oil and proceeded to fry my fillets.  I cooked them until both sides were golden brown, about 4 minutes a side.  Just before the fillets were fully cooked I added a couple splashes of lemon juice and swirled the pan to mix with the fish/olive oil.  Before removing from the pan I sprinkled the fillets with some Italian seasoning, just on the side facing up.

Enjoy!

Comments»

1. Dana - June 12, 2012

It came out great thanks for posting and I used real lemons 😉


Leave a Reply

