jump to navigation

Chicken Parmesan Bundles April 12, 2011

Posted by graciegrapes in Food.
trackback

My boyfriend and I have been soo lazy about cooking lately; we kind of got into the routine of just going out to eat.  BUT the other I finally decided to cook dinner!  I wanted to do something simple, especially since we don’t have much in the fridge right now.  Kraftfoods.com always comes to rescue in those situations and that’s where I found this recipe for chicken parmesan bundles.

I’m hoping that this will break our streak of eating out!

To learn how to make it…

Chicken Parmesan Bundles
from Kraftfood.com

Ingredients:

  • 6 small boneless, skinless chicken breast halves; pounded to 1/4″ thickness

    Release some stress and flatten chicken out with a rolling pin or frying pan 😛

  • 4 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 10 oz frozen spinach, thawed and drained
  • 1 cup shredded Mozzarella cheese  (I didn’t have mozzarella, so I used mexican blend and it worked well)
  • 6 tablespoons grated Parmesan Cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 10 Ritz crackers, crushed
  • Spaghetti sauce
  • Crushed red pepper flakes, optional

Heat the oven to 375 degrees.

Mix cream cheese, shredded cheese, and half (3 tblsp) parmesan cheese, and spinach together.
In the original recipe is says to spread the mixture onto the chicken breast and roll. 

Rather than spreading the mixture onto the chicken breast I just plopped it in the middle of my chicken and folded over the sides, securing the ends in the middle with a toothpick.

In a small dish beat the egg, and in another dish combine the remaining parmesan cheese and crushed crackers.  Take you rolled up chicken and dip into the egg then roll in crumb mixture.  Place breaded rolls into a baking dish sprayed with cooking spray.

I only had 5 rolls, since one of my breasts was too small to split into two

Bake for 30 minutes or until chicken is done.

Remove toothpicks and top with sauce and either parmesan or mozzarella cheese.

For a bit of spice I added some crushed red pepper flakes to my sauce while I was heating it up.

I served mine over pasta shells

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

