jump to navigation

Updated Skin Routinue August 28, 2010

Posted by graciegrapes in Beauty.
trackback

Since I first posted my skin routine it has undergone quite a bit of change. Starting in April or May my skin, not just on my face, went out of control!  A 2 week vacation to Las Vegas resulted in improvement, but the moment I got back to Virginia the dry skin and itchiness came back.  Since the eczema had just gotten so out of control I signed up for health insurance and finally saw the dermatologist.  That was 2-3 weeks ago and I have seen a ton of improvement.  My dermatologist really helped to get the eczema on my body under control.

While I was in the waiting room I read an article disputing whether facial moisturizer was necessary or not.  One of the arguments stated that moisturizer, particular over-moisturizing, can cause more dryness as it causes the skin cells to be “lazy”/inactive about natural moisturization.  After some thought I decided to try cutting back on the lotions and creams that I slather on my face.  I was very skeptical at first, but I have noticed my face not being so dry.  Definitely a reduction in flakiness!

Morning:

  • Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser – If I wore a lot of makeup the day/night before I will wash my face, otherwise I will just rinse with water.
  • Aveeno Skin Brightening Daily Scrub – I use this maybe 2-3 times a week to exfoliate
  • Garnier Nutritioniste Moisture Rescue Refreshing Gel-Cream – I have been using this for a little over a month and I really like it.  It’s kind of odd at first since it’s not like lotions I’ve used before.  I will be writing a review soon, hopefully.
  • Sunscreen before makeup – currently I am using Aveeno Baby Continuous Protection Sunblock Lotion SPF 55

Night:

  • Pond’s Deep Cleanser & Makeup Remover – I use this by wetting my face with warm water, then massaging the cream all over my face.  This stuff is amazing and gets EVERYTHING off without stinging my eyes.  I rinse with warm water and wipe my face with a warm, damp washcloth to make sure I get all of it off
  • Neutrogena Makeup Removing Wipes – If it’s a late night, and I’m too lazy to wash with Pond’s I will use these wipes
  • Cetaphil Moisturizing Lotion – I prefer the new formula, Daily Advanced Ultra Hydrating Lotion, but I ran out and I have the normal one left.  Since I use it as a “pre-moisturizer” it’s fine
  • Clinique Moisture On Line – I picked this up at the CCO on a whim; I think it might be discontinued since I didn’t see it at Sephora or at the Clinique counter.  Dry skin on the face makes my skin wrinkle, so the anti-aging components in this cream work great.  I use it after allowing the Cetaphil lotion to soak in.

Definitely cut back on the number products I was using!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

