jump to navigation

Summer Steak with Chimichurri Sauce July 12, 2010

Posted by graciegrapes in Food.
trackback

For 4th of July weekend I went home and before going back to Richmond my mom hooked me up with a package of steak and corn!! This past week the boyfriend and I decided to try out the Special K diet, so the only real cooking I have to do is dinner. Naturally I want to make the one meal I cook really count 🙂

Package of steak!!

Fresh Parsley for the Chimichurri

After browsing KraftFoods.com I found two recipes to try out… Summer Steak and Chimichurri Sauce. I am always looking for different ways to flavor my steak, and I LOVE chimichurri sauce! For those who aren’t familiar, chimichurri sauce is an Argentinian green sauce made sing parsley. It’s usually served along side grilled meats, or even used as a marinade. This recipe is basically a quick and easy version, but it’s not too far from the taste of authentic chimichurri.

Summer Steak with Chimichurri Sauce

For my steak dinner…

Summer Steak
courtesy of KraftFoods.com

Ingredients:

  • 1 boneless beef sirloin steak, 1-1.5 in thick
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground red pepper (cayenne)  **I didn’t have any so I substituted for a little over 1/8 tsp black pepper**
  • A1 steak sauce  **I didn’t have any of this either, but that’s where the chimichurri comes in**

Basically just rub the spices over your steak and set aside in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes.  Heat the grill to medium-high and cook to your liking, don’t forget to let the meat rest before digging in!

Rub the spices all over the steak

5 minutes per side = about medium

Chimichurri Sauce
courtesy of KraftFoods.com

Managed to fit everything in my mini processor!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups fresh parsley
  • 1/2 cup Zesty Italian salad dressing
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 bay leaf  **I didn’t have any**
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes  **optional, for some added heat**

Place all ingredients into a blender or food processor, and process until well blended.

Chimichurri

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

