jump to navigation

Coconut Cupcakes with Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting June 16, 2010

Posted by graciegrapes in Food.
trackback

So a couple of weeks ago I had the biggest craving for coconut cupcakes so I found a recipe, gathered my ingredients, but never got around to actually making the cupcakes. It’s actually probably been about a month or two now, and I’ve had plenty of opportunities to bake the cupcakes but nothing.

This past week has been quite stressful with school: 2 tests and a paper, on top of discussion questions and a group project.  Today was the 2nd test, and I’m pretty caught up on work so I decided to make the coconut cupcakes!

This recipe incorporates coconut milk into both the frosting and cakes.  The cakes are dense, yet airy at the same time.  The coconut flavor comes through nicely without being overwhelming.  Will definitely be making these again!

Coconut Cupcake with Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting

For my much awaited coconut cupcakes…

Coconut Cupcakes
courtesy of Simply Recipes

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup of canned coconut milk
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 2 1/4 cup of all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup sweetened coconut, shredded or grated

Cream together butter and sugar until fluffy, then add eggs and mix well.  In a separate bowl mix together flour, salt, and baking powder.  In another bowl (I just used a measuring cup) mix coconut milk and vanilla extract.

I don't usually separate my wet and dry, but I figured that I would try it this time

Add dry and wet ingredients to butter in an alternating manner; I added half of the dry then mixed, and half of the wet then mixed.  You want to be careful not to overbeat the batter, just incorporate everything.  Fold in coconut, I used grated since I wanted it to blend together in the cupcakes.

The grated coconut blended smoothly into the batter

If you wanted actual pieces in your cake then I’d use shredded.  Fill cupcake liners a bit over 1/2 way, and bake at 350 degrees for 18-22 minutes (mine took 22mins to cook).  At about 15 minutes rotate cupcakes to ensure even cooking and to determine how much more time is needed. Cool completely before frosting.

I think the hardest part of cupcakes is allowing them to cool

Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients:

  • 8oz cream cheese, room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons butter, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup sweetened coconut, shredded or grated

Combine all ingredients.  I like to refrigerate my frosting while the cupcakes are cooling to make it easier to work with.

Be sure to watch your coconut when toasting... I almost burned it!

Top with toasted coconut if desired 🙂

Enjoy!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

