jump to navigation

Cajun Shrimp June 11, 2010

Posted by graciegrapes in Food.
trackback

Normally I don’t do much to my shrimp when I cook it; pretty much just follow what’s on the Old Bay seasoning can or simple steam. Today I wanted something a little different and I was scanning through the food section on Yahoo and found this recipe for “Cajun Shrimp.”

Cajun Shrimp served with white rice and corn

To see how it turned out…

I made a couple of changes to the recipe.  Instead of lemon I used lime; used the juice of one lime, and didn’t bother with the peel.  Also, I added a dash of red pepper flakes to kick up the heat a little.  I also ran out of cajun seasoning, so to compensate I haphazardly added chili powder, nutmeg (I’m not sure what I was thinking when I sprinkled this in), garlic salt, black pepper.

Cajun Shrimp
adapted from Shine on Yahoo

Ingredients

Thawed my shrimp in cold water for about 15 minutes

  • 2 lbs of shrimp
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 1 small onion, chopped (1/3 cup)
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon of cajun seasoning
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup green or red sweet peppers, chopped  **I used an orange bell pepper

Combine everything except for the shrimp and peppers in a large skillet or pot and bring to a boil.  Once boiling add shrimp and stir to coat, return to a boil.  Once boiling again reduce heat and simmer, covered for about 5 minutes or until shrimp is cooked;  stir occasionally.  Add peppers.

The recipe states to transfer mixture to a bowl and marinate covered in the fridge for about 4 hours, then to drain and serve.  Since I made this for dinner, I didn’t want to serve it cold out of the fridge.  Rather, after cooking I left the mixture covered in the pot to cool until we were ready to eat.

Comments»

1. scarletsculturegarden - June 15, 2010

Shrimp doesn’t need a lot doing to it…. Unless it’s like this. I think cajun shrimp are the best, even though I’m not the biggest shellfish fan in the world.
Lovely blog x


Leave a Reply

