jump to navigation

Potato Salad… hold the mayo! June 10, 2010

Posted by graciegrapes in Food.
trackback

To serve along with my hot dogs (topped with New York onions) I whipped up some potato salad.  Personally, I think I’m pretty picky when it comes to potato salad (and cole slaw).  One thing I detest is too much mayo!  In fact I don’t really like mayonnaise… something about the taste.  If I can taste the mayo then I don’t like it; same goes for salad dressing, which to me tastes like tangy mayo.

Luckily I happen to find this recipe from The Nellys on the Food Network.  Their recipe calls for salad dressing, which I replaced with mayo since I don’t keep salad dressing on hand.  Salad dressing probably would have added more of a tang.  This was my first time trying to make potato salad and I think it turned out pretty good.
Definitely no mayo taste here 😛

Potato Salad with my hot dog!

For the recipe…

Grandma Jean’s Potato Salad
courtesy of The Neelys, Food Network

Ingredients:

My potatoes were on the small side so I added one more

  • 5 large potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 2 ribs celery, chopped
  • 1/4 – 1/2 large onion, chopped
  • 2 or 3 hard-boiled eggs, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons sweet relish
  • 1/2 cup salad dressing or mayo
  • 3 tablespoons yellow mustard
  • 1 tablespoon sugar

Bring a pot of water to boil and boil potatoes until tender, a bit over 10 minutes.  I also seasoned my boiling water with a dash or two of garlic salt, like I do when cooking pasta.  Once tender, drain and cool potatoes.

Don't cube the potatoes too small, otherwise they'll break up too much when you mix everything

In a large bowl add the onion, celery, eggs, mayo, mustard, and sugar.

I should have chopped up the onion and celery finer/smaller

Once potatoes are cooled, add to bowl and mix everything together!

Paprika and sliced egg would make nice garnish

***Surprisingly, the next day I added more mayo to my potato salad since the onion was too overpowering and the salad itself was a little dry***

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

