jump to navigation

“One pot” dish that should be made in two! June 7, 2010

Posted by graciegrapes in Food.
trackback

The boyfriend and I went shopping at BJ’s the other day and stocked up on food. This included a HUGE pack of pork chops. After laying out in the new pool I was in the mood to cook. I started doing searches for something simple like potato salad (had a craving for it). I went to KraftFoods.com and noticed on the home page a recipe for “One-Pot Herb-Crusted Pork Chop Dinner.” The recipe was extremely simple, and I happened to have everything to pull it together.

One Pot Herb Crusted Pork Chops

To see why this isn’t quite a “one pot” dish…

One-Pot Herb-Crusted Pork Chop Dinner
adapted from KraftFoods.com

Ingredients:

  • Pork chops, your choice of boneless or bone in (mine were bone in)
  • Italian Dressing
  • Italian seasoning
  • 1 Tblsp oil
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 pkg (24oz) Velveeta Shells and Cheese
  • Dinner
  • 1-2 pkg (10oz each) frozen broccoli or green beans

Typically I like to marinate my meat overnight

Marinate pork chops in Italian dressing for at least 1 hour.  Heat oil in a large pot over medium heat.  Prior to adding chops to pot, season both sides with Italian seasoning.  Cook pork chops about 4-6 minutes per side; my chops were on the larger side so I cooked for about 6 minutes each side.

Pork chop #2, and the pot was already pretty brown

I ended up only cooking two of my four pork chops in the pot.  The bottom of the pot was getting quite covered and almost burned that I decided to finish up the rest of my chops in a separate frying pan.  Place cooked pork chops on a plate and tent/cover to keep warm.

I like tenting my meat with foil to take advantage of the residual heat to ensure thorough cooking

To the pot add water and bring to a boil.  Stir in shell macaroni, lower heat to medium-low and cover. Simmer for 10 minutes.  This part of the recipe was VERY INTERESTING for me.  As I stated before the bottom of my pan had become very “dark” and when I added the water what resulted was a dark murky soup.

My cauldron

I was very apprehensive about adding my pasta, but since this recipe was meant to be “one pot” I went ahead and added my pasta.  I wasn’t able to really keep the pot covered though.  After 10 minutes of cooking the pasta add the frozen broccoli/green beans and continue to cook for 6 more minutes.

Added the broccoli to the shells

After pasta and veggies are cooked there is little water left.  Stir in cheese sauce and cook until heated through.  I think I may have had too much water left, since after adding the cheese sauce my pasta was relatively bland.  I added additional Italian seasoning, dash of salt, and a handful of shredded cheddar cheese.

Shells and Cheese for the Pork Chops

The additions greatly improved the flavor.  Surprisingly the murky brown water did nothing more than slightly darken the shells and cheese, no affect to the taste!

Like I said this dish definitely tasted batter than it looked.  The pork chops by themselves had a wonderful taste.  In the future I will definitely use two separate pots for this dish: one for the pork chops, and one for the pasta side dish.  The original idea of the dish was nice, but I think it would be better to just cook the two parts separately (also more time efficient).

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

