jump to navigation

Orzo Pasta with Shrimp May 19, 2010

Posted by graciegrapes in Food.
trackback

So I was cleaning up my room with the TV on and a commercial for Filippo Berio olive oil came on. Normally, I just like having the TV on for background sound but for some reason the commercial got my attention. Not sure what it was about the commercial, but this recipe was the topic of the commercial.

Lately I’ve been in sort of a cooking slump due to preparation for nursing classes to start. After watching the commercial I felt motivated to try making it. I have never cooked with orzo, but coincidentally my sister had brought a box when she dropped off the food items from her dorm. Also, shrimp just happened to be the only protein in my freezer right now 😛

Uncooked orzo

Orzo Pasta with Shrimp

For my first experience with orzo…

Orzo Pasta with Shrimp
courtesy of Filippo Berio

Ingredients

  • 8 oz uncooked orzo pasta
  • 3 tablespoons plus 1/2 teaspoon olive oil, divided
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 1/4 lb raw shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 1 1/2 medium tomatoes, diced
  • 2 tablespoons fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons, fresh parsley, chopped
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 2 oz feta cheese, crumbled
  • Salt and black pepper, to taste

For my shrimp I used frozen raw easy peel shrimp.  I thawed the shrimp by soaking them in water for about 30 minutes.  After soaking I peeled the shrimp and put the in the refrigerator for later.

Next I cook my orzo pasta.  Nothing out of the ordinary; just boil some water, add salt and pour in pasta.  Took about 10 minutes for the pasta to cook.  The orzo pasta reminds me of grains of rice.  After draining the pasta, toss with 1/2 teaspoon of olive oil and set to the side.

In a large skillet heat 3 tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat, and then add the minced garlic.  Cook garlic until golden brown, takes about 2-3 minutes.  Next add the shrimp.  Stir in with the garlic and cook until shrimp become opaque, about 5 minutes.  Once shrimp are cooked add tomato, cilantro, parsley, and lemon juice.  Remove from heat and stir all together.  Sprinkle with feta cheese and season to taste with salt and pepper.

This dish was extremely quick and easy to cook.

For a little heat season with red pepper flakes

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

