jump to navigation

Product Review: Eucerin Calming Creme May 18, 2010

Posted by graciegrapes in Beauty.
trackback

Over the past couple of weeks I have experienced a really bad outbreak of eczema on my back.   I have been dealing with eczema all my life, most on my face, neck, arms, but it had never been on my back.  Having the itch on my back is whole different experience for me.  There are times with my back is just unbearably itchy, particular in the middle of the night.  I find myself dampening a face towel with cold water and having to just keep it on my back indefinitely to relieve the itch.  The prescription ointments (atopiclair and protopic) have done barely anything for the itch.

I had run out my my Aveeno Intense Relief Cream; which unfortunately my skin seems to have gotten used to, and was strolling down the lotion aisle at Taregt.  When I a little my parents had me try just about every brand in the aisle (Jergens, Suave, Lubriderm, Eucerin, Aveeno).  Unfortunately I had used soo many different lotions that it’s hard for me to recall which brands actually worked.

Since the outbreak on my back was getting to be soo unbearable I new that I need something STRONG, a plan old lotion wasn’t going to do it.  For some reason the tube of Eucerin Calming Cream caught my eye; perhaps it was in part due to the sale sticker 😛  I decided to give it a try.

click pic for product link

For my experience with Eurcerin’s Calming Cream…

Eucerin Calming Creme claims:

Your skin can become so dry that it is easily irritated and itchy, especially if you have atopic dermatitis or eczema.  The Solution? Eucerin Calming Creme is specially developed to prevent dry, itchy skin.  This non-greasy formula provides rich moisturization and soothing oatmeal to help keep your skin calm.

  • Preferred by dermatologist
  • Soothin oatmeal calms and protects skin
  • Rich moisturization lasts for 24 hours
  • No medicinal odor and no greasy feelin
  • Appropriate for children
  • Free of fragrances that can irritate sensitive skin

The creme is actually very nice.  It’s a thick formula that is scentless, and non-greasy.  This product also does a pretty good job of moisturizing.  The only problem I encountered with the product was that it BURNED/STUNG soo bad when applied.  At first I thought it was due to the severity of my back, but when I applied the creme to other parts of my body I experienced the same burning.  The burning sensation did subside after a few minutes, once the creme soaks in completely.  But after using this product for the past 2 weeks the burn is just too much!  The burning has become unbearable, and down right painful 😦

Furthermore, the day that I stopped using the cream my back seemed to be almost drier and itchier than before I started using it.  The pressure of my shirt was causing pain, due to the dryness.

Unfortunately, when searching for reviews of the calming creme I found nothing but praise.  I didn’t really find too many incidences of burning, however I did find a few.  I would approach this product with caution, especially if you are suffering from severe eczema.

Needless to say I stopped using this product, and have started using Curel Itch Defense.  So far so good… at least there’s no burn.

Comments»

1. Tj young - November 9, 2013

I agree eucerin BURNS LIKE CRAZY

2. Betty - April 4, 2016

We’ve tried this cream for my kids and both of my sons screamed and cried for several minutes about how badly it burned. My one kid hates almost all lotions so we thought maybe he was being dramatic but then on a completely separate occasion my other son also cried about it burning. It doesn’t both me at all but its off our list 😦 so far Shea butter has been the best received. Thanks for also posting about it because you’re right–there’s not much out there.

3. Aretha Rice - June 10, 2016

The burning is almost unbearable! I use a little at a time so that my entire back isn’t on fire. Why is this happening? This Eucerin Skin Calming Itch Relief Treatment is supposed to be the best, but I just don’t like the burn. Please help?!?!

4. Abby - February 26, 2017

The same thing happened to me, I applied it on my legs and it started buring REALLY bad. It went away after 5 minutes but I DONT recommend this product.


Leave a Reply

