jump to navigation

Fish Tacos with homemade toppings! May 2, 2010

Posted by graciegrapes in Food.
trackback

For dinner I made fish tacos topped with white sauce, pico de gallo, and guacomole.  

The fish tacos were inspired by a recipe I found on FoodNetwork.com; basically it’s a beer-battered fish and a white sauce to top.  I just decided to make some pico de gallo and guacomole to go along with it.  Everything is relatively easy to assemble, I think cutting the vegetables probably took up most of the prep time. 

 

For how I made everything…  

Beer Battered Fish
**I actually improvised my fish batter, since I didn’t realize that I didn’t have any batter mix; I had only bought panko breadcrumbs** 

Ingredients: 

  • Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 teaspoon Garlic Powder
  • 1 teaspoon Creole Seasoning
  • 1/2 bottle of beer  (I used Corona)
  • Panko Breadcrumbs
  • White fish of choice (I had fillets of pollock and flounder)
  • Oil

Preheat deep fryer or oil in a deep pan to about 375 degrees.  Mix together flour, salt, garlic powder, creole seasoning and beer.  Unfortunately I’m not sure how much flour I used, I used enough to make a batter thick enough to coat the fish; I think it was probably somewhere around 1 cup.  Dip and coat the fish in the batter and follow by dredging in panko breadcrumbs.  After coating, deep fry for about 3 minutes or until golden brown and cooked throughly.  Drain off excess oil.  Assemble tacos and top as desired! 

Fish taco

 

I didn't have any cabbage, but lettuce worked 🙂

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

White Sauce
**This sauce is a MUST**  

Ingredients: 

  • 1 cup Mayo
  • 1/4 cup Milk
  • 4 tablespoons Lemon Juice
  • 1 teaspoon Garlic Salt

Mix everything toegther until smooth.  It would also be nice to add diced jalapeno and cilantro, but since both my pico and guacolome already have it I didn’t do that. 

Pico De Gallo
Ingredients: 

  • 2 Tomatoes; seeded and diced
  • 1/4 Onion; diced
  • 1 Jalapeno; seeded and diced
  • Juice from 1 lime
  • Cilantro; optional
  • Salt; to taste

Combine all the ingredients and set to the side in the refridgerator. 

 

Guacomole
Ingredients: 

  • 2-3 Avocadoes
  • 1 Tomato; diced
  • 1/2 Onion; diced
  • 1 clove of garlic; minced
  • 1 Jalapeno; seeded, diced
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • Salt; to taste
  • Cilantro; optional

Use a knife to "mash" the avocado

 

Peel and pit avocadoes and promptly squeeze lime juice over the halves in order to reduce browning.  Personally I don’t like guacomole that is completely smooth, so to avoid that I don’t mash up the avocado.  Instead I use the knife to kind of cut/dice it while it’s in the bowl; it’s a cut and mix motion with the knife, leaves me with a mixture of slightly mashed and chunked pieces.  Next you add the rest of the ingredients and mix everything together; the mixing continues the “mashing” and results in a smooth yet chunky consistency.  Set aside in the refridgerator.  *I find that covering the guacomole with plastic wrap also helps to reduce browning when in the fridge* 

Comments»

1. Ellen - May 2, 2010

YUM. Those fish tacos look amazing. Seems like a perfect entree…to be followed with tres leches cake!

2. Cinco De Mayo… wish I could taste it! « Not so secret… - May 5, 2011

[…] for Homemade Guacamole and Pico De Gallo can be found on my Cinco de Mayo post from last year. LikeBe the first to like this […]


Leave a Reply

