jump to navigation

Kinda like a Quiche April 21, 2010

Posted by graciegrapes in Food.
trackback

*** This entry has been sitting in my drafts for about 3 weeks now, just got real lazy about uploading the photos :P***

About 2 weeks ago I was watching Food Network’s “Best Thing I Ever Ate” and on the show they featured a quiche. Personally, that show has caused a majority of my recent food cravings 😛 Since then I’ve been researching different quiche recipes, bit none really appealed to me; primary because of the crust. I wanted something very quick and easy; however, I did come along one recipe for a crust that I may try in the future.
Well, today I was browsing KraftFoods.com and came across the “Breakfast Bake“… very simple recipe, and after reading through the reviews I decided to use the recipe as my basis for my “Quiche”

For my adaptation…

Kinda like a Quiche
adapted from KraftFoods.com “Breakfast Bake

Ingredients:

  • 1 can refrigerated biscuits, room temp (if you want a thicker crust use 2 cans)
  • 6 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp pepper*
  • 8 oz mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 tomato, diced (I used half a pack of cherry tomatoes, quartered)
  • 1/2 large onion
  • Frozen spinach, thawed
  • 1 cup mozzarella
  • 1 cup feta cheese

In a large pan saute mushrooms and onions in a little bit of olive oil until onions start to get transparent and mushrooms brown a bit.  Remove from heat and toss in thawed spinach; set mixture aside to cool.  

In a separate bowl beat together eggs, milk, and pepper.  I found that using 1/2 tsp of black pepper didn’t really add much to the “quiche”, I actually ended up topping it with some “Garlic Pepper” made by Lawry’s that my roommate.  For more flavor I would suggest 1 tsp of Lawry’s garlic pepper; if you can’t find it I would do 1/2 tsp pepper, 1/2 tsp garlic salt.  Of course, season is to your taste as the recipe pretty versatile as far as seasoning goes.  

 

In a 9×13″ dish press the biscuits into the bottom of the pan to create a crust.  Be sure seal up any cracks/seams.  The original recipe called for cresent rolls, which would probably result in a much lighter crust; will try it next time.  Once crust is ready you want to spread the mushroom and spinach mixture evenly in the crust, and top with the diced tomatoe.  Once filling is in place evenly pour the egg mixture over top.  Top with mozzarella and feta cheese.  Bake for about 30 minutes, or until center is set/firm, at 350 degrees.

As a mentioned before, this recipe is pretty versitile; you can change what you fill it with.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

