jump to navigation

Product Review: Tresemme Dry Shampoo April 5, 2010

Posted by graciegrapes in Beauty.
trackback

Recently I saw a couple of videos on YouTube talking about dry shampoos. I had never heard of dry shampoo and didn’t really think much of it. Then the other day I realized that it might be beneficial for me to try out. Before I’ve mentioned how I have extremely dry skin; in fact my doctors have always told me that I should be taking showers everyday, but if I do to use water thatisn’t too hot. Well, despite my scalp being super dry my hair tend to get really oily/greasy if I don’t shower everyday. I don’t wash my hair everyday with shampoo, typically I shampoo maybe 2-3 times a week and then I condition almost everyday. This has kept my hair from being greasy, but I don’t think it really helps with my dry scalp; which has started to get pretty bad lately.

So I started to research what was out there.  One of my deciding factors was that I didn’t want one that sprayed on white.  That ruled out Batiste, which is a popular drugstore brand.  However, I did not want to start out with the higher end brands since I didn’t know if I would like dry shampoo.  Luckily I found out about Tresemme’s Fresh Start line, and I was able to find it at Walmart!

Tresemme Dry Shampoo.. click picture for product site

For my thoughts on Tresemme’s Dry Shampoo…

I have been using this product for the past month and a half, especially during my trips to Atlantic City and New York.

This product claims:

“Zap oil and odor in between washes with this new dry shampoo. The unique formulagives hair a clean look and feel with gorgeous volume, even when you don’t wash.”

Here is a link to the product’s website for more claims and demonstration. http://www.tresemme.com/fresh-start/products/dry-shampoo.aspx

This product does give you volume.  However, it doesn’t really get rid of the oiliness of my hair.  When sprayed onto the hair the product gives you a damp/slick feeling, and as the day goes on it basically develops into oily hair again.  I don’t feel as though I get “second day hair” from using this product.  For a quick refresher this product works, but the results aren’t long lived.  Unfortunately, I probably won’t be repurchasing this product.

Last week I was walking around Bed, Bath, and Beyond and I found Salon Graphix brand dry shampoo (about $5).  I’ve heard good things about using this brand to keep teased hair volumized.  So, will give it a try next.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

