jump to navigation

Fried Shrimp Sandwich with Kicked Up Tartar Sauce March 20, 2010

Posted by graciegrapes in Food.
trackback

I had some leftover steamed shrimp from the other night and wanted to try something new with it.  So, as usual, I began searching on KraftFoods.com 😛  Didn’t find anything too appealing, and then I remembered an episode of Paula Dean where she made a Shrimp and Oyster Po’boy.  I figured it would be perfect to fry up the shrimp.  I went onto FoodNetwork.com and began searching through the Po’boy recipes and came up with a “breading” for my shrimp and a simple kicked up tartar sauce.  Unfortunately, I don’t have any exact measurements since I basically took ideas from several recipes and threw everything together 🙂

For what I did…

Fried Shrimp
Ingredient:

  • Peeled Shrimp – either raw or precooked
  • Flour
  • Creole Seasoning
  • Chili Powder
  • Milk
  • 1 Egg
  • Italian Breadcrumbs

In a shallow dish/bowl Combine egg and splash of milk to make an egg wash for the shrimp.  In another dish combine flour, creole seasoning, and chili powder; I think I used about 1/8-1/4 cup of flour, 1-2 tablespoons of creole seasoning, and a dash or two of the chili powder.  The basic idea was to create a seasoned flour coating.  Put the Italian breadcrumbs in a third dish.  The shrimp were dipped in the egg wash, coated in the flour mixture, re-dipped in the egg wash, and dredged with the breadcrumbs.  I used a deep fryer with vegetable oil heated to 350 degrees.  Since my shrimp were already cooked it only took maybe 2-3 minutes to fry them to a golden brown.  After frying the shrimp were placed on a paper towel to drain off any excess oil.

Kicked Up Tartar Sauce
Ingredients:

  • Mayonaise
  • Sweet Relish
  • Onion, diced
  • Salt
  • Garlic Salt
  • Hot Sauce

These are all approximations… About 3 parts mayo to 1 part sweet relish and 1 part diced onion (ex: 1 cup mayo, 1/3 cup relish, 1/3 cup onion). Dash of regular table salt and garlic salt.  Several dashes of hot sauce; I used mostly  Franks Hot Sauce and a little bit of Chipotle Tabasco Sauce.

Use whatever bread you like to assemble the sandwich, I made my sandwiches with both French bread and plain old hot dog buns.  Spread a good portion of the sauce onto the bread, layer the shrimp and, top with shredded lettuce and tomato.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

