jump to navigation

Sweet Asian Chicken Wings February 7, 2010

Posted by graciegrapes in Food.
trackback

For most family parties one of my aunties makes these sweet chicken wings. They have a light glaze like coating and they are always one of the firsts things to run out. These are the only chicken wings that my dad ever eats!
It had been a while since I had gone to a family party and I was craving the wings 😛 So, I called my mom to see if she knew how to make them.. no luck 😦
A couple of weeks went by and then out of no where my auntie calls me and let’s me in on her “secret wings.” It was soo simple!

Sweet Asian Chicken Wings
Ingredients:
Raw chicken wings (if you have frozen wings it’s best to thaw them)
Flour
Sugar
Soy Sauce

First you want to pat your wings almost completely dry, as frying with wet wings can be painful! Then you want to coat your wings lightly with flour; I like to mix in Creole Seasoning mix with my flour, just for a little kick (I do this when I coat anything with flour). Before frying your wings you want to mix together your dipping sauce: one part soy sauce mixed with one part white sugar (ex. 1 cup soy sauce with 1 cup sugar). Today I made 12 wings and 1 cup was way too much, I had plenty left over… I probably could have gotten away with 1/2 a cup of each. You want to make sure the sugar is dissolved in the soy sauce. Now you can start frying your chicken; you can do this in a deep fryer or in a pan with oil, whatever way you are comfortable with. Once the wings are cooked I briefly drain off excess oil with a paper towel and promptly soak the wings in the dipping sauce. It’s important to dip/coat the wings while they are still hot so that it creates a glaze on the wings. I leave my wings in the sauce for maybe 20 seconds then place them on my serving dish. Today, since I was making these in advance, I placed the coated wings on a baking sheet lined with foil so that I could easy heat them up in the oven before the Super Bowl 😛
If you’re going for presentation I would garnish with chopped up green spring onions.

[rockyou id=156487379&w=426&h=320]

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

