jump to navigation

The many uses of cream cheese :P February 4, 2010

Posted by graciegrapes in Food.
trackback

So, my roommate is currently in awe of all the uses I have for cream cheese.  In my previous post I made a quick alfredo sauce using cream cheese, last night I decided to make enchiladas using cream cheese!  My roommate does not really like Mexican food and the thought of using cream cheese was just out of the question.  Needless to say, I made a believer out of her…

This has become one of my favorite recipes because it’s soo easy and it tastes wonderful.  Once again this recipe is courtesy of Kraft Foods; it is very customizable and easy to work with.

Creamy Chicken and Chile Enchiladas
*this is the recipe I have written down which was taken from a Kraft Food and Family Magazine, but I’m sure you can find it on the Kraft foods website*

Ingredients:
1 lbs chicken breast strips
8oz cream cheese
4.5oz chopped green chiles
12 flour tortillas, taco-size
20oz enchilada sauce
3/4 cup shredded cheese

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Cook chicken in skillet, add chiles and cream cheese – cook until well melted and combined.  Pour half of sauce into baking dish. Fill shells with chicken mixture and roll.  Place seam side down in sauce.  Top with remaining sauce and shredded cheese.  Bake for 15-20 minutes

Once again I did my own adjustments to the recipe.  This meal was intended to feed my boyfriend and myself; the way I prepare it leaves plenty of leftovers for the next day.  I take a boneless, skinless chicken breast and chop it up into small cubes.  I then cook the cubes in a skillet with a little bit of oil olive and season with salt, pepper, and a cajun seasoning; sometimes I will cook some diced up onion with the chicken, but I did not do that this time.  Once the chicken is pretty much cooked I add the chopped chiles (comes in a can) and cream cheese.  Personally I like to keep burrito-sized flour tortillas on hand for making quick quesadillas, so I take those and cut about 3 or 4 in half.  I also only use 1 – 10oz can of green enchilada sauce; I like green but you can use red if you like.  I lightly spray my baking dish (in this case I used a 8×8 glass dish) with nonstick spray and pour just enough sauce to lightly coat the bottom of the pan.  I fill my halved shells with the chicken mixture along with a little sprinkling of Mexican cheese blend.  I arrange them in the pan and proceed as the recipe states by pouring my remaining sauce and topping with the Mexican blend shredded cheese.  I don’t really measure out 3/4 cup, I just eyeball enough to cover the enchiladas.

Unfortunately I did not think to take a picture of the finished product… we were hungry 😛
I like to eat my enchilada with a side of salsa and sour cream, whereas my boyfriend likes either rice or chips on the side.

Like I said before this is a very easy recipe that allows you to add whatever veggies and spices you may like.

Comments»

1. Ellen - February 4, 2010

ahh i want enchiladas now! please mail me the leftovers..i need food for the weekend.


Leave a Reply

