jump to navigation

Current Skincare Routine January 27, 2010

Posted by graciegrapes in Beauty.
trackback

If you didn’t visit my late Vox blog, here’s an overview of how my skin is and how I have arrived to the routine I currently follow.

I have extremely dry skin due to my eczema, which is its worst on my neck and face.  I believe the affect on my face is the main reason why I never really got into makeup before.  Pretty much all of the makeup I had tried from the drug store would dry me out or accentuate my dryness if I tried using it on a regular basis, which I wanted to start doing especially now going out into the professional world.  However, right before last Thanksgiving my roommate Tiffany introduced me to MAC cosmetics; and basically there has been no turning back for me.  MAC opened me up to trying makeup again, but this time I had to pay extra care to my skin since without health insurance a quick trip to the dermatologist for my dry skin was not really an option.  Lucky for me MAC is one line that does not dry me out with regular use 🙂

Anyways, after reading over numerous reviews and watching numerous vlogs I’ve come to my routine.  One thing I did notice, during my seraches, was that there really aren’t many people with really dry skin doing makeup tips/videos/blogs.  SO hopefully my experiences can help others looking for help.

Morning:

  • Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser – my dermatologist recommended this to me when I was in high school dealing with both my dry skin and some acne; I have been using this every since (8+ years).  I typically wash my face in the shower.
  • Equate Medicated Apricot Scrub – I will use this to exfoliate 1-2 times per week.  Since this is relatively rough I am careful not to overdo it, since over-exfoliating can actually make your dry skin worse.  I am thinking about looking for a new face scrub, perhaps the Aveeno one.
  • MAC Fix+ Spray – I just recently started using this spray, and have noticed that my skin is not as dry during the day.  I use this on my face after drying it, right before I moisturize.  It’s important to moisturize when your skin is MOIST; the moisturizer works by locking moisture in.
  • Cetaphil Moisturizing Cream for Dry and Sensative Skin – I use this on my faceand it is one of the few products that keeps my skin moisturized for the whole day!  A major plus is that it feels pretty lightweight for a cream, and it doesn’t leave you feeling greasy at all.
  • Aveeno Skin Relief Lotion and Aveeno Intense Relief Cream – I use these on my neck, which seems to be much more stubborn in comparison to my face.  The past week I started to mix the two and that seems to be working my my extremely dry neck.
  • Equate Advanced Firming Eye Day/Night Cream – I started using this at the beginning of this year; applied after I moisturize with Cetaphil.  It seems to do the job moisturizing my under eye area, but I’m not sure if I’ve noticed any of the firming (I do have some fine lines under my eyes due to my dry skin I think).  I want to try SuperEyes SuperEyes (I don’t remember the brand, but it’s sold at Target), but I won’t be getting it until I finish this stuff.
  • Burts Bees Lipbalm or Blistex on my lips – I tried using Carmex but I found that it actually dries my lips and I can’t stand the taste!

I typically do all of my moisturizing after getting out of the shower, before getting dressed.  Then I get dressed giving the moisturizers a chance to sink in before apply my makeup.

Night:

  • Ponds Deep Cleanser & Makeup Remover – While Cetaphil is a great cleanser it doesn’t quite get all of the makeup off.  Ponds on the other hand does an excellent job, even with waterproof products!  I usually wet my face with warm water then rub this over my face and eyes (it doesn’t sting when it gets in your eyes).  After working it in I rinse with warm water and then wipe with a warm washcloth, since this does leave a residue if not wiped off.
  • Generic Alcohol Free Baby Wipes – I recently started wiping my face with these baby wipes after cleansing; it acts like a toner to remove any left over makeup.  When I’m lazy these baby wipes also work as a primary makeup remover.
  • Cetaphil Moisterizing Cream on my face
  • Aveeno Lotion/Cream mixture on my neck
  • Equate Advanced Firming Eye Day/Night Cream
  • Burt’s Bee Lipbalm or Blistex with Vasaline layered over it
Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

